Week Nine

Let’s start this post off by dumping some random pictures I have on my phone

20120312-093607.jpg

That’s great if you want national healthcare, but you better be prepared to wait….

20120312-093616.jpg

….and wait…..for anything you need done.

This picture was taken quickly and with the wrong settings but, the man in the black car up there did not yield to the man in the mini-van who actually did have the right of way.  The man in the mini-van then waited until he got to the next stop light, got out of his car and started screaming and european-arm-flailing at the man in the black car.  Note that the man in the black car had his wife and his two children (one was an infant) in the car with him.  However, the mini-van man did not care, he went on screaming until he felt better I suppose.

20120312-093629.jpg

I miss spicy.  You can order things ‘picante’ here however, it’s around a mild to mild-medium on the Texas scale of things.  This was my “Thai” salad.  Meena? What in the world makes this Thai!

20120312-093639.jpg

But the one thing they can do right is desserts.  This is a crepes au sucre blanc.  It is not a belgian dessert, but a french one.  I cheated.

20120312-093647.jpg

This is the best bottled water brand.  Just in case you ever come across the pond and would like to get some bottled water, get SPA brand.  It’s delicious.

20120312-093711.jpg

This bus cut me off and almost took off my front bumper.  But at least it apologized.
(The busses apologize here! Really!?!!)

20120312-093719.jpg

Please take the Asse exit.  I’m so immature.

20120312-093732.jpg

On Monday, it snowed.  On Saturday I was in a light jacket and sweaty.

Now for the real post:

20120312-093742.jpg

Our First Visitor!  M2 came to visit us this past week.  We had a lovely time.  I am so glad to catch up with her and that she came to see Belgium.

I hope all of you out there know that when I say, come visit… I MEAN IT!  M2 and I have not seen each other since 1998.

That is 14 years people!! (^^weren’t we cute^^). BUT, through the magic of Facebook and this blog we reconnected and had a fantastic time.

20120312-094307.jpg

I took a lot of pictures of M2 taking pictures.  Here we are eating Moules Frites at La Bonne Humeur. (Highly recommend)

20120312-094318.jpg

Driving around the city, seeing some sights

20120312-094325.jpg

20120312-094338.jpg

Walking around the Flemish region doing Flemish things.

20120312-094404.jpg

And then on Saturday M2 traveled by herself up to Brugge and back by train to explore the town, drink some beer and see all of it’s loveliness.

I’m telling y’all, come one come all….

You get your own comfy room.  You get your own private bathroom.

I’ve got any and everything you could possibly need, so you don’t even have to worry about packing a toothbrush.  If you do it right, you can save money and come with just a carry-on full of clothes.  No pesky liquids/lotions to get in your baggage way.  Hope to see you soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week Nine

  1. Aunt Mary says:

    I love your posts – look forward to them every week!!!

  2. Val–I assumed the kidney stone had passed and had let it “pass” from my mind. How much excruciating pain have you suffered? If you have time when you get back home I would absolutely love to hear all about it. I have never known and been able to communicate with a fellow sufferer. Some days I think I’m going to lose my marbles if I don’t lose these kidney stones!

    I, too, very much look forward to your posts and delightful pictures. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

