Week Sixty-One

This weekend the cold lifted a bit and the sun made a short appearance! I was looking back at old pictures from last spring and summer today. I could see the beauty in the photos felt its warmth and it overwhelmed me with impatience. This winter has been a long one for a girl who has only experienced the moderate climates of Texas and Miami.  Last year at this time, I was too sick with the kidney stone debacle of 2012 so I didn’t even want to or bother to get outside.  This year, now that I’m able to move around, not be in pain and know what I’m missing, I’m dying over here!

Zane had a random high fever with a cough this weekend but on Sunday afternoon he seemed in better spirits. His fever wasn’t gone but he looked like he needed fresh air. We went to the forest for a short but nice walk.

forestviewIt seems so common to me now to say, “oh, we went for a walk in the forest” when just a little over a year ago that would sound completely bizarre.

 

ForestMap
The Foret de Soignes (Sonian Forest) is an 11,000 acre forest that takes up a large part of Brussels (the giant green space at 4, 5, and 6 o clock on the map above).

It used to be 29,000 acres and part of the Ardennes Forest until Napoleon came along and ordered over half of it cut down to build ships to invade England. Way to go Napoleon.

forestmap4
The orange A is where we live and as you can see, that is a pretty big forest. When we first moved here, I had many criteria for our house. One of which was to live close to this forest…because I’m a huge nature nerd if you haven’t figured that out by now.

talltrees
Most of the trees here are Birch Trees and are huge.

kidsillyforest.jpg
My kids are weird, I don’t know where they get it from.

kidssticks.jpg
They had a good time being 4 year olds.  They played with sticks and whatever else they could get their dirty hands on.

lilyforest.jpg
Finally, some outdoor time with the family!  Loving the monkey hats Cousin Stacy.

mossmound
Spring is coming guys, I know it, I feel it, I see it!

twigjump.jpg
No one ended up hurt, which is probably a first for a Hawthorne Family weekend.
We went out for only about an hour, because the blue sky quickly faded back to grey and the temperature dropped back down into the 30s. Boo.

uptree
oooo I can’t wait to see you babies in about a month! Neon green tree canopy ceiling here you come!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week Sixty-One

  1. Kasiu says:

    On Tuesday it should be 16 degrees. I can’t wait 🙂

  2. kdcarver says:

    As always, great pictures and prose… Are you sure you’re an Aggie? 🙂

    I guess I’m the opposite of you: I love the winter. I write this looking out at a snow covered ridge lit by half-moonlight. The starkness. The greys and browns. The crisp air bringing me alive. Maybe too many SE TX summers (40+) has me dreading spring instead of welcoming it.

    • 104wks says:

      Now as you gaze over that snow covered ridge, imagine two 4 year olds, screaming, fighting, whining and so bored that not even TV can entertain them any longer. You spend 20 minutes to get them dressed to go outside, only for them to come crying at the door 10 minutes later because they can’t feel their nose and their boots are filled with snow. Anytime you get them in the car it is 10 minutes of dressing for the walk to the car, 5 minutes of undressing in the car so they can fit in their carseats, then 20 minutes of redressing in the tiny space of the car so they can walk for at least 5 minutes without the first whine of “it’s too cold!”
      Spring is the time when all moms are able to open that back door, shove them out and breathe a sigh of relief.

  3. tjebran35 says:

    Every time I read your blog, I ask myself when your first book will be published. Be it mom-iIsh or research-ish, I figure it to be a best seller. Hope Zane’s fever is gone by now. I doubt I could have handled two of the same age at the same time. (God knew.) I applaud your down to earth approach and hope spring comes soon to Brussels soon. It’s snowing today in Minneapolis and will be cold rain here tomorrow. Wind chill today is about 20 degrees, so the nose gets very cold, very quickly.

Leave a Reply

